Attendees get into the spirit of the occasion

2023 Saluting Excellence Conference and Awards – All About Empowerment

* 23 November 2023 *

The annual Vasey RSL Care Saluting Excellence Staff Conference took place on Thursday 23 November with a record number of attendees. 

We were treated to a wonderful program, led by our MC, Geoffrey Bardwell, which included Keynote Speaker, Sadhana Smiles, motivational speaker Tim Jack Adams, and from the Australian National Veteran Arts Museum (ANVAM), Tanja Johnston.

CEO Janna Voloshin told us about what empowers her, including her new friend, Golda, aka GPTChat.

Our residential team presented their video ‘I’ve got the power’ and three brave staff, Evalyn Kaaya, Roshani Rokka and Shelly Nayyar shared their personal stories of empowerment in our Empowerment Chat Show.

And without the support of our sponsors, none of this would have been possible.

Saluting Excellence Awards

Congratulations to all staff who were nominated for a Saluting Excellence Award this year and special congratulations to our winners:

Jessie Mary Vasey Award for Excellence in Traditional Values:

Ash Sood (Frankston South), Nicole Groves (Bundoora)

Excellence in Quality:

  • Don Agra (Brighton East)
  • Nadia Wilson (Business Systems)
  • Vishma Pathak (Business Liaison)
  • Santosh Poudel (Quality & Risk)

Excellence in Care:

  • Chorten Gurung (Brighton East)
  • Arcelina Lawrenson (Bundoora)
  • Divya Talwar (Brighton)
  • Roshani Rokka (Bundoora)
  • Bronte Azzopardi (Bundoora)
  • Shelly Nayyar (Frankston South)

Excellence in Resilience:

  • Amanda Gibson (Community Services)
  • Viola Chiorny (Brighton East)
  • Julie-Ann Carr (Residential Services)
  • Mark Ryndich (Finance)

Excellence in Security:

  • Wasina Sirithorn (Bundoora)
  • Aarti Goel (Brighton East)

Excellence in Fulfillment:

  • Leanne Saville (Brighton)
  • Ashmita Pandit (Brighton East)
  • Ruwan Bogodaarachchige (Frankston South)
  • Nyapini Diu (Frankston South)

Excellence in Dignity:

  • Mia Mcasey (Brighton)
  • Josephine Smethurst (Frankston South)
  • Manuela Udriste (Brighton)
  • Tajinder Johal (Brighton)

Excellence in Camaraderie:

  • Kellie Bugeja (Bundoora)
  • Charles Ramsay (Brighton)
  • Rajinderpal Kaur (Brighton East)
  • Siew Ping Su (Frankston South)
  • Jodi Evans (HR)

Overall Award for Outstanding Achievement:

  • Linda D’Sylva (Bundoora)
  • Bindu Simon (Brighton East)
  • Anne Warden (Veteran Services)

Team Camaraderie Award:

This is a new award this year and builds on the previous Magnet Award. It is calculated using multiple measures including length of service, reliability, completion of required training and business sustainability measures.

This year’s winner was:

  • Vasey RSL Care Brighton East